Ubuntu loses the human aspect

Posted: March 22, 2010 in Generally Speaking..

For anyone who doesn’t know by now, Ubuntu has decided to ditch their world famous brown “human” suit in order to look more like a washed out version of Mac.  Ever since Ubuntu came on the scene, it has sported a brown theme.  Many people have poked fun or just flat out hated it.  I read a comment about how Ubuntu looked like something off a “pumpkin pie box” for instance.

As for me, I personally liked the brown theme of Ubuntu.  I liked what it was trying to symbolize with the name, theme and general concept of being human.  Ubuntu is recognized first and foremost by the brown theme and it brings comfort to many for being the premier newbie (thereby human) friendly Linux distro in the world.  I like brown.  For me, it’s the color of chocolate.  Chocolate is tasty.  Therefore, brown is good.  This is how my mind works.  Additionally, it is not the screaming-obscenities-in-your-face shade of blue that ex Windows refugees tend to cringe away from.  It is easily recognizable.  So now, I guess when you see something gray and purple, you will go to look at the Mac and say heyyyy wait a second, this isn’t Mac, what is this?..and then be sucked into the Linux world via some bait-n-switch tactic?  Interesting strategy, but all I can say is that I bemoan the loss of humanity.

Comments
  1. Mr. X says:

    If you saw the brown theme, you knew what they were using and you can’t replace that. Too bad Canonical doesn’t quite realize that.

    Word.

  2. Pariah says:

    indeed so..they are giving up more than they realize.

    Words.

Leave a comment