Adobe Flash Player

Posted: November 1, 2008 in Something's Just Not Right, Here..
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Someone needs to come up with a viable alternative to Adobe’s Flash Player, especially for Linux…Flash Player is soooooo buggy in Linux, it makes me want to shoot people in the face.  Repeatedly.  I have had nothing but problems with Flash Player ever since I have first used Linux.  I am hoping something else turns out to be the problem, like a graphics card or something.  I seriously hate Adobe Flash Player.  Hate..Strong word, entirely applicable!!!!!!

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Comments
  1. Graham says:

    I had similar problems initially as well. I believe I had different versions of Flash installed and they were conflicting. Make sure your system is completely updated. If that doesn’t work, use your package manager to search for flash. If you see your system has different versions installed, try to uninstall them one at a time starting with the oldest versions first.

    In TinyMe Flash works like a breeze. Just install it from Synaptic.

    Graham

  2. Pariah says:

    Flash not playing well with Linux is by no means a problem singularly confined to me or to any one distro for that matter…although Debian based systems suffer more from it due in part to the fact that Debian itself doesn’t use it and the other forked distros do..the workarounds tend to step on each other…
    and yes, I have made sure of which version and versions of Flash I have going..again, first thing I did.
    In TinyMe, Flash does work well…I believe it was Opera that came with it? (I could be wrong on that one) However, I use three web browsers and they have to get along with each other as well as Linux. Eventually what it took was a new version of my distro, which like everyone else has done their own workaround and being Mint, it just works.

Leave a Reply

