Crunch Bang Linux goes Debian!

Posted: March 20, 2010 in OS Reviews

I’ve been keeping an eye on Crunch Bang Linux for some time.  I admit it, the name drew me in.  I had not made up my mind to download it yet with all the other things I have going on at any given time.  I am currently behind on updating 2 blogs, 2 websites and my art gallery..ugh..At any rate, I was checking in on Distrowatch to see when the final release version of the new PCLinuxOS is coming out (almost there!) when I noticed that Crunch Bang has a new version coming out.  Currently it’s in alpha, and being unfamiliar with the distro’s release schedule, I’m not certain when the final will be out.  What I did notice is that, for the first time, Crunch Bang is opting to build on Debian, rather than Ubuntu.  I am excited about this, as I was highly and publicly disgruntled about Karmic Koala.  Crunch Bang desktop is packaged with Openbox and Xfce.  As soon as this becomes final, I will be doing a review on it to see what I think.  I have heard very good things abou it, so here’s hoping!

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Comments
  1. Scott Thompson says:

    Archbang – Based on Arch Linux has a new edition available and the next rolling release is due in January. Since crunchbang made the transition to Debian it’s seemed to be a Dead Project. No new ISO’s in almost the better part of a Year.

  2. Pariah says:

    Really? I shall have to check it out. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

