Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx Review

Posted: May 19, 2010 in OS Reviews

Everyone knows that I pretty much lost my mind over Ubuntu 9.10, as the Karmic Koala sucked koala nu..well anyway, it wasn’t good for the majority of folks.  So, when I saw all the changes that were coming to Ubuntu, I decided to give it another shot (especially since my distro of choice is based off Ubuntu I didn’t want to have to wait for another release to have a usable system)  So yes, I was rooting for a good Ubuntu.  Needless to say, I was not disappointed.

Usual method of madness, Live CD.  It was a little slow on the load time but by no means one of the slowest (I believe Fedora had that honour for me).  Once it loads the splash screen, it’s in purple..no more brown???*  The new Ubuntu logo is looking nice, with a different font and the symbol is now smaller and off center, making for a well polished and professional look.  In an interesting (irritating?) move, Ubuntu now looks remarkably like Mac, with whom I am currently severely disappointed as they seem to get more fascist every day.  The window controls are on the left rather than the traditional right; however, this wasn’t a supreme irritation as I thought it would be and I had no trouble adjusting to it.  The startup sound is a nice little drum beat with an African feel to it.  Almost forgot, there is a splash screen right before the desktop comes up with the option to try Ubuntu or install..I guess to make it easier for a newbie.

Anyway, back to it.  There are new icons sitting on the top panel.  1.  An icon with up and down arrows depicts the internet connection status.  Lucid had no problem detecting my wireless connections and my ethernet connection as well.

2.  There is a mail icon that does a few different things.  For mail, Ubuntu is now using Evolution, which I think is a great choice.  I have always uninstalled Thunderbird in favor of Evolution.  It synchs with several services and uses fewer resources as well as being ridiculously easy and convenient to set up.  I set up a mail account successfully.  Then, Chat is also monitored from this applet through Empathy rather than Pidgin.  I have not used Empathy before and therefore cannot speak for all the features like I could with Pidgin but I did successfully add one of my accounts (I chose Yahoo for the purpose of testing) and it worked just fine.  The third option was called Broadcasting.  This uses something called Gwibber, which is apparently a microblogging client.  I successfully set up my Twitter account on it.

Firefox worked just fine (meaning my internet connection worked right out of the box) and I was streaming radio on Rhythmbox (in order to test out both Rhythmbox and to make sure the sound worked).  Using an .spx file that was in the examples folder, I successfully used Totem (Movie Player) and found that for once the visualizations worked as they should and were actually kinda neat.

The evil Karmic Koala had major issues with mounting devices, so I tested that by mounting my memory card from my Nokia Surge (6790 for you purists).  Not only did it mount successfully, but Ubuntu even knew it was a Nokia formatted card and named the mounted device Nokia S60, appropriately.  Nice.

On to the looks.  The new look, while most definitely not original will make the haters of the brown theme rejoice.  * I am most unhappy about this as I like brown because it’s the color of chocolate which is tasty.  I also liked it because it’s easily recognizable..”hey, that’s Ubuntu on that episode of Dr. Who! Sweet!” but if they want to look like a watered down Mac, to each his own and it does look nice.  The icons are a strange sort of orange rather than brown and it clashes severely with the purple but there are other theme options, such as Radiance, Dust and good old Clearlooks blue, for those of you who want to resemble a watered down Windows rather than a watered down Mac (shakes head in bemusement).  The pointer options include a red theme..seriously?? Someone really needs to be checked for color blindness.

There were a few things that I didn’t care for, such as the clashing of colors and the fact that there are games installed rather than GIMP or VLC instead of the utterly horrid Totem.  Additionally, my biggest annoyance is that while Ubuntu went out of its way to revamp its entire look, they went to someone else’s look.  As for the look itself, it’s okay.  The new logo is very nice.  I liked it quite a bit.  As far as the distro is concerned I was pleased.  HUGE improvement over the Koala.  Overall, I would rate Lucid Lynx an A- for newbie friendliness and usage and a B+ for looks.  That last would have been an A- but I’m not fond of copycats.

Comments
  1. Smart says:

    Ubuntu with radiance theme looks cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

