Linux Mint 10 Review

Posted: December 22, 2010 in OS Reviews
Tags: ,

First off, my apologies for such a late showing of this review.  I always take notes as I test a new distro and I was going to write this review using my handy-dandy Android app, so I took my little paper and stuck it in a pocket..somewhere.  I finally located it today, which is the reason for my tardiness.  Now that my groveling is complete, awayyyy we go!

I booted a Live CD of Linux Mint 10, nicely named Julia, and waited for the boot.  The booting didn’t take much longer than average but longer than I would have liked.  The throbber ‘dots’ from the previous Isadora are again present.  The boot finally ends in a gray desktop with very little green to be had (:O) but it was a nice ‘metal’ theme that had a simple yet elegant LM 10.  The new icon theme, which is apparently made from sets “Faenza” and “Elementary” and of course, mintified, is VERY nice to look at.  It was a little wow moment.

One of the big changes for Linux Mint this go around (and there’s always at least one to wow you with) is the Mint Menu.  That’s right, the amazing Mint Menu that makes other distros wish they were green, has gotten even better.  The menu is now themeable, and more customiseable than ever, with the nice new icons incorporated and menu entries have been revised to make categorizing better as well.  Additionally, one can use search engines from the menu now, as well as the search and install packages right from the menu.  I did forget to check the CPU usage for this so I am uncertain whether or not these menu improvements will be detrimental to memory.

The other big big change for Mint is that now, upon deciding to do a hard drive install, one is now presented with the option of upgrading to the DVD edition of Mint.  This includes all the goodies that have to be missing from the Mint editions that get distributed in the USA and Japan due to patents and copyrights etc.  So now no one has to miss out on the full issue of Linux Mint.  This is something I can take advantage of myself.

Other nice improvements include changes to the Update Manager, which now comes with an ‘ignore list’ and now tells the size of individual updates.  The upload manager, which also remained untested by me as I have no use for it, went through some minor changes as well, including the ability to run in the background and it’s looks now mirror the download box in Firefox.  Additionally, the Software Manager is faster, which was nice..although not as noticeable as the speed increase was on Isadora lol.

As for aesthetics, I liked the look of Linux Mint (I always do) but as far as the artwork is concerned, I have to say none of the hired artists have done work to surpass that of some of the long time community members.  In future releases I would like to see artwork by Linux Minters again.   The brushed metal look is good though.   Everything I tested worked just fine, as expected from the Mint team.  Wireless and DSL connections fine, as well as all the apps were all in perfect working condition.  As usual, I give high marks to Linux Mint, an A- for performance and an A- for looks.  Great job to the Mint team!

Comments
  1. awkisopen says:

    The icons really amazed me this time ’round, though you’re right, there really isn’t much improvement to speak of when it comes to wallpaper. I was surprised by how many Mint 9 wallpapers (most of which have a 9 on them!) stayed in.

    Is the boot screen supposed to just be those throbber ‘dots’? Because I can’t get past a single boot without the screen getting flooded by messages! :O

  2. Pariah says:

    I do wish that the decision to use ‘paid artists’ had not been made. I felt that there were several community members who made much better artwork, wallpapers that reflected their love of Mint, rather than someone just doing a job without any passion for the distro itself. As far as the boot screen, it is supposed to say Linux Mint and have the throbber dots, and then go into GDM (login)..My guess is that you are seeing the verbose boot rather than the silent boot but I’m not sure because I’m not seeing what you are. And if so, I have no idea why that would be but there is a fix for it, a modification of a .txt file (that I can’t think of off the top of my head lol) just go to the Mint forum and search for verbose boot and silent boot.

  3. Billy says:

    Sorry buy terms like “simple yet elegant”, aesthetics, “throbber ‘dots’”, “an A- for performance and an A- for LOOKS” don’t help me at all… I can judge all that for myself easily.
    I would like to eventually move to or co-use Linux… However a CRITICAL analysis would be much more helpful.
    My recent Mint/Mandriva/Ubuntu experiences tell me that things like “data integrity”, “consistency of operation and use” and even understanding the difference between GMT and local time, do not seem to count for much…….???????

  4. Pariah says:

    For those who still do not get the concept, this blog (and accompanying websites) are targeting the very new newbie Linux user. That would be the one who has no understanding of Mac or Windows beyond pointing and clicking, yet who are extremely tired of their computer telling them what they can and cannot do, or are tired of that 6,000th virus, or their computer freezing when doing something terribly complex, like opening two windows or right clicking a mouse. If you can “judge all that for yourself” then you aren’t the kind of person who needs my help and are therefore wasting my time with your critical bits of meaningless judgment. If you are not happy with your Mint/Mandriva/Ubuntu experiences, then go back to whatever operating system makes you as giddy as a schoolgirl. It’s that simple…

Leave a Reply

