Start.me Bookmarking and More

Posted: November 15, 2014 in Helpful Techie Things
Tags: ,

Image 2I have to do one of my rare, rave reviews today.  This review is of Start.me, a bookmarking service that I absolutely love and can’t do without.  I have 2 computers, one with Windows for work and my personal computer with Linux Mint.  Split between these two computers are about 5 or 6 different instances of web browsers.  Having bookmarks on each browser then would not only be confusing but ultimately counterproductive.  For this reason I use bookmarking services.  Xmarks is one of the more popular ones, as is Delicious (which I also have and never use)  For the longest time, I was using a service called Only2Clicks.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have my bookmarks on there as I feel there is no such thing as too many backups.  However, I came across Start.Me by using Alternative.To and made the move permanently.  All my bookmarks are now on Start.Me and I love this service.  It’s really awesome! And Free!  Everything is placed on widgets; bookmarks, news, weather, notes, etc.  Apparently it’s a lot like Google start page (which I never used before) but for me it’s just so awesome I can’t say enough good things about it.  I was able to import my stuff from Only2Clicks and there’s an export available too (a little hard to find, check the help page)  I sent them an email once telling them how much i loved the service but that I wished that I could move a widget from one page to another with drag n drop.  They said, sure thing and now I can!  The devs are amazingly responsive, I swear they must be Linux users 🙂  So, check out this service if you are like me and need a cloud-based bookmarking service with many perks.  Start.me

Comments
  1. Michiel de Wit says:

    Hi! Just read your blog today. I’m actually one of the devs for start.me. Indeed a Linux user. Got that right 😉

  2. Pariah says:

    Well hey! Nice of you to drop by! Still adoring Start.Me and it’s my home page on every browser. Linux is awesome! 😉

Leave a Reply

