GNOME 3.x Not Rendering Properly

Posted: December 17, 2014 in Something's Just Not Right, Here..

I’m having the hardest time trying out Gnome 3.14 (or 3.12 or 3.10 for that matter)  I thought it was time to give it another go as I used to be a HUGE fangirl of GNOME. Gnome 3 came out and I was so excited..then so horrified.  I’ve been DE hopping since then.  Finally, it looks like Gnome 3 is maturing enough for me to give it another shot but every distro I try it on: Fedora, OpenSUSE, Ubuntu Gnome etc., once it boots up into a Live environment (also on installed) the desktop ends up being a big steaming, garbled mess.  I can see where items are supposed to be, like login screen and panel items but they look like scrambled eggs.  Is this a Xorg issue? a driver issue? The fact that my Acer Aspire 5515 is too old to play with Gnome issue? Opinions welcome.

Leave a Reply

