Mail.Ru: mail, search the web, news, games

Posted: January 5, 2015 in Generally Speaking..

So, I’ve had my Yandex mail account for about 2 years now.  Very very happy with it.  Never a spam in sight and I get a free 10GB storage on the cloud for whatever I want.  So when I started having problems without Outlook.com, I thought perhaps another Russian email account might just be the solution.  Mail.Ru: mail, search the web, news, games.  As to the Outlook.com issues, well, sometimes I don’t get my emails…from newsletters, mostly, ones I use for work.  Even when I’ve added them to safe sender lists, created filters to keep them in the inbox, added them to my contacts..nothing works..and I’m far from the only one with this problem.  MS tech support just goes round and round with the same ”solutions” over and over without actually solving anything.  So, until they get their shit together, I won’t be using them for work, which is a damn shame because other than this issue, Outlook.com is a pretty good product.  As for Mail.ru: it’s another Russian email service, which also has lots of other products with it, like Yandex and Google.  It also gave me a whopping 100GB of free storage.  I’m testing it out now with those same newsletters; if all is a go, this will likely become my new work email address and Outlook.com will go away completely.  One caveat, though.  Use a web browser with a translator built in (or an extension) because Mail.ru is not nearly as English friendly as Yandex.

Leave a Reply

