Vivaldi.net – Welcome

Posted: February 3, 2015 in Generally Speaking.., Random Techie Ponderings

I was on the Opera blog earlier to see if there was anything new of note after the update.  Sadly, no.  I keep hoping, as I’ve been an Opera fangirl from the first 30 seconds I ever used it, way back in Opera 7/8.  After Opera 12, the powers that be decided to ditch everything that made Opera truly unique and be just another Chrome clone and not even that good of one. It took several updates before bookmarks worked, if that doesn’t say it all.  I digress.  So I was on the Opera blog earlier and someone made a comment mentioning Vivaldi.  I thought it was a codename for the next testing version of Opera.  Why I clicked that link, I have no idea, but I discovered that Vivaldi is a new web browser, developed by the original developers of Opera.  That right there just made my DAY! Here’s their mission statement: “We must make a new browser. A browser for ourselves and a browser for our friends. A browser that is fast, but also a browser that is rich in functionality, highly flexible and puts the user first. A browser that is made for you” 

And they aren’t playing around either.  Not only is the browser available for download (expect bugs though, it’s beta) but there is a full fledged community up and running with over 20,000 members already.  I signed up, feeling quite nostalgic as I did so.  Here’s the link for the community (which comes with a blog and webmail too)

Vivaldi.net – Welcome.

I’m off to download the browser and give it a whirl.

Leave a Reply

