Archive for August 23, 2016

I reinstalled Opera lately because I was looking for a Chrome alternative. I loved Firefox (still do, and keep an alternative of it around also, called Light web browser) but I find that Chrome has better extensions for the most part and they always work better than their FF counterparts (sorry but they do, and I really am sorry)  However, Opera has its own repository for extensions and a couple of the ones I rely on weren’t there. For instance, The Great Suspender is one of my must haves. Downloading this Opera extension, aptly (if not inventively) named Download Chrome Extension. This allows chrome store extensions to be installed (with a warning dialogue about extensions from an unknown source)

No worries about the warning dialogue. Download whatever you couldn’t find in Opera. It has a reasonable margin for error. For instance, Raindrop.io is another of my must have apps (it keeps all my artwork related links for my graphic design job) and the chrome store version just doesn’t work correctly. To be fair though, it’s kind of wonky in the actual Opera extension as well. I also used Download Chrome Extension to grab Lightshot, a lightweight screenshot extension that is on my must have list also. Works just fine. Back when I was using Evernote (ha!) the chrome extension worked just fine as well. So enjoy!

Install extensions from Chrome Web Store.

Source: Download Chrome Extension extension – Opera add-ons